Up and Down at the Barbican

Its been a long while. I’m not sure how many people read this and if they miss me. I know my number one fan is having a new kitchen so she’s been busy. I’ve no excuse. I wonder how other bloggers keep their momentum. I’ll look for a book on blogging!
I arrived from Enfield Town. As I passed Hackney Downs, two women comment on the new planters that have sprung up on the platform.
“I wonder if you can just pick things?”
“That cabbage is a bit small”
“You’d think they’d plant larger ones”
It’s like a discussion on an Abel and Cole Veg Box. They do look nice though. Flowers, herbs and cabbage all co-existing in wooden planters. I hope they come to Enfield Town.

I am at the Barbican and my head is muzzy. I buy a Tea in Eat. The woman serving is flirting with some business men. She skilfully extracts the location of their work. I wait a long time for my tea.
I take my tea up to the Barbican and phone a friend. Its chilly but the sun appears. We talk about kittens, work and life.
The Gardening volunteers are tending to the beds. There is a lot to do. I feel very guilty just sitting watching and feel I should be getting a hoe out and joining in.

As I pass the Shakespeare tower I notice people abseiling down both sides. You never know if it’s for charity, repairs or protest. Looking up makes me feel queasy so I look down.

In the Barbican library, Life continues as normal. The excellent Gerald Scarfe Exhibition is on in the Music Library. I went a few weeks ago with my Mum. Yes, she has joined me on my Friday Jolly. The exhibition had original designs for “Orpheus in the Underworld” from the mid 80’s. I went to see this production by ENO for my 18th Birthday. Very memorable.

I’ve observed things in this Library since we last spoke.

There was the time when three librarians are shouting instructions to a woman with a baby in a buggy in the disabled lift.
“You have to keep holding the button in”
The lady pushes the button. The lift descends by an Inch. She pushes the other She inches back up.
“No, hold the button in”
The librarians look at each other
She’s coming back up”
“Push it and hold it in”
This lift appears to have a dead mans handle.
Eventually, after much muttering, they manage to coax the lady to hold the button in and inch her way down.
I found it hilarious. The librarians didn’t
I had the feeling that, once at the bottom, she’d realise that the way out was actually back up the top.

I told Mum about this as I suggested she might like to avoid the steps and go in the lift.
“No, I’ll walk” she said.

I’m back on the serious side of choosing some book. I choose “The Rough Guide to Blogging” as I feel my efforts need a boost. An audio book about Lost Village Life for the car and a book about Old London.
There is an excellent art display of prints that I spend sometime looking at, wishing I had the skill to produce such work.
img_1920I leave the centre and head for my usual walk. So much for heading in a different direction. I pass the Launderette and marvel at its Soft Water Washes. I peer through the gym window and watch them pulling and up and down on the equipment. Several have given up and sit staring out of the window. That would be me – if I dared go in.

I pop in to The Barbican Fruiterers and buy another heather for my Mum.
“You’ll be in her good books” he says as I pay.

As I turn in to the Clerkenwell Road, my sister phones. She needs advice on school and how they are dealing with Terror Clowns. She reminds me how like my Nephew I am. As I proceed along the Clerkenwell Road, I am now on the look out for Clowns, Killer or otherwise. I look up and decide to keep looking up as I go. It’s a revelation. A past London is above our heads as modern fast food outlets dominate below. I dive in to a Prets for a bowl of chicken soup. Guaranteed to cue all ills. At the till, a girl in a Rabbit onesie is buying a sandwich. She looks more surreal than a clown.

My walk is taking through Bloomsbury to the Brunswick centre. I pop in to Holland and Barret’s for some pills. I come out with a bag of lentil Lemon and Chilli crisps. One of the children at school gave me one and they were rather nice.

img_1928I pass Cosmo Pottery and wish I’d bought a Clanger Tea service when I’d seen it in the window. There is a cafe in the church opposite. St Georges Holborn. I wouldn’t have known it was a church but I’m still looking up. The cafe looks nice. No knitted tea cosie and thick green crockery. I weave past and find my self in medical land. A woman walks past with red crutches. She knows they look unusual and is clearly showing them off.

The Brunswick centre is always unexpected, built as it is in the middle of a housing estate. Its underground cinema advertise opera and theatre live screencasts. Two guys play table tennis. Everyone eats. I end up in the Marchmont street Cost for a pot of tea. Its time to go home. These Fridays go all to quickly. I’ll leave you with a few pictures looking up above the shops in Clerkenwell, and a random one looking down!

 

Leave a Reply

