Musical Opinion

Its April 15th and today, I’ve found Volume 42 of the Magazine Musical Opinion covering October 1918 to September 1919. The advertisements are good to look at. After the war, there is a sense of optimism and a feeling that, a piano at home and a book of good tunes, will see everything back to normal. I am surprised how many Piano tuners are advertising in the small ads section.image

I am also impressed to see the many different piano makers. The ads show a very different time to the present where making music was still very important to most people lives rather than listening to recorded music. wireless and the gramophone are still not for everyone.

I am also very surprised to see an advert from a company R. Spurden Rutt and Co. Organ builder in Leyton, E.10. bet there aren’t too many around in London now.

My mind is drawn to the adverts for harmoniums as it is reminding me of a story told to me by my Dad. I can’t recall the details so we’ll return back to it at a later date.

So what did I get out today? We’ve gone highbrow. I have the Hawkes Pocket Score for Berlioz Roman Carnival. This was a piece we studied for my O Level Music and I don’t think I ever got to the end at the same time as the music. Somehow, I always seemed to finish first. I want to try to see if I can still do it, and if I’m actually any better.

My book from the London Collection seemed to Jump out at me. Written in 1967, the year f my Birth by a man then living in Enfield. Maskelyne and Cooke, Egyptian Hall London 1873-1904 by George A. Jenness. The entertainment in Piccadilly seems exotic to say the least and I’ll report back when I find out more.

As I write this, there is a concert on in the hall below us and the Orchestral music is coming up through the floor. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

